Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

gradually exertional Shortness of Breath after ablation

Posted by JW 
JW
gradually exertional Shortness of Breath after ablation
January 31, 2022 12:21AM
Hello,

I was diagnosed paroxysmal Afib in 2016, then had ablation on 2019. I started Tikosyn right after this ablation. My paroxyamal Afib remains, even on Tikosyn. I used to be very active physically. But since my ablation and being on Tikosyn, I started feeling chest tightness and shortness of breath while walking or do any exertional physical activity. My ECHO showed EF 60%. I am not sure are there anyone experience the same symptoms after ablation. Is my symptom due to pulm vein stenosis or side effects of Tikosyn ?

Thank you !
Re: gradually exertional Shortness of Breath after ablation
January 31, 2022 02:26AM
Precribing dofetilide is not allowed here in Belgium.
I don't say it's a bad drug. I'm no scientist. But my opinion is that rhythm drugs (or betablockers) and exercise are usually bad combinations, unless you exercise mildly.
January 31, 2022 09:49AM
There's no way for anyone here to guess what the cause is, but pulmonary vein stenosis is unlikely. If you've been on Tikosyn since the ablation and you're still experiencing afib, then clearly your ablation was not successful. Have you had a conversation about this with the EP who did the ablation? Have you described your symptoms to them? If not then you need to have that conversation. And whether it's with them or another cardiologist, you need to investigate the cause of your symptoms. They aren't normal and shouldn't occur after an ablation. Could be a side effect of the Tikosyn but there's only one way to find out, and that's by stopping the Tikosyn. Since you say you're still experiencing afib despite the Tikosyn, I think that conversation you need to have should include what other drug options are available to you.
January 31, 2022 04:59PM
JW
Hello,