Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Afibber looking for support

Posted by pgrove1 
New Afibber looking for support
July 28, 2019 07:43AM
Hi everyone,

New to the forum and new to afib. I’m a 33 yo otherwise healthy male. Back in June I had my first episode of a fib. I was standing in my kitchen cooking bbq sauce for some ribs I was making and out of nowhere I had palpitations that felt to me like a run of SVT. I’m a pharmacist that works in the ER and my wife is an ER nurse so I laid down and tried to vagal out of it with no luck. About 10 minutes after it started we called 911 and I got an ambulance ride to the ER (at this point I’d felt a little different like something was flopping around in my chest). As soon as the medic arrived and got me on the monitor I was clearly in afib. I got two liters of fluid and more or less laid around in the ED for 5 hours and right before I was about to get diltiazem I converted back to NSR. I am pretty sure I’ve been in NSR ever since. My questions are really related to how people deal with the anxiety associated with it (I mildly panic anytime my heart rate is over like 110) and how people get past the stage of being afraid to do things. I’m currently limiting myself in lots of ways just for fear of having another episode. I’ve had a cardiology follow up and had a normal echo last week and I have a first meeting with a local EP on Tuesday. Just looking for some support. I haven’t really been this freaked out or scared about my own health before. I didn’t mention but I’m married with 4 young children and I think that increases my concerns. Any support or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Patrick
Ken
Re: New Afibber looking for support
July 28, 2019 10:01AM
Relax,

I had afib for 11 years (5 undiagnosed and 6 diagnosed). Dr. said it was mitral valve prolapse causing an irregular hear beat for the first 5 years - WRONG.