Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What to ask the Electrophysiologist

Posted by MartyM 
What to ask the Electrophysiologist
December 07, 2022 09:30AM
Hi All,
I am new to AFIB and I am so overwhelmed by it! I have an appointment this evening with an EP.
I have prepared a few questions for him however please share with me the questions you would ask an EP.
Thank you for sharing.
Re: What to ask the Electrophysiologist
December 07, 2022 10:01AM
When I first had AF, I recall seeing the disappointment on the EPs face when I declined his persistent attempt to have me schedule an ablation as soon as possible. Any EP eager to ablate you should be run away from.

Interview EPs, and several of them, with the same due diligence you would a financial adviser or potential mate. The wrong decision and even the 'right' one will affect you the rest of your life.

At the end of the day, it's a coin flip. There's an omerta in many professions where they won't speak ill of each other and patients can easily become victims.

Just don't jump in bed with any EP or MD and see what can be done to avoid a procedure that may negatively and permanently impact your life.

Ask them for copies of all of the contracts, waivers, disclosures you'll be asked to sign when presented with them only 30 minutes before the procedure in advance. You'll likely not get them.

Then realize anything that goes wrong you will likely have no recourse for if/when it does goes wrong.
December 07, 2022 10:37AM