Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Monosodium Glutamate and Tachycardia

Posted by LLA 
LLA
Monosodium Glutamate and Tachycardia
November 01, 2022 10:42PM
I have been doing well heart-wise since my ablation 4 1/2 months ago. Wore a monitor for two weeks and everything looked great. But this morning I was startled to see my heart rate had gone up to around 160. When I finally got my watch to do an ECG, it said no sign of afib, just high heart rate. I drank a lot of low sodium V8 and took a diltiazem, which I hadn't had since before the ablation. Heart rate has since leveled off to around 120.
I hadn't had anything out of the ordinary last night, not even any Halloween candy or alcohol! But I had eaten some crackers which I later realized had MSG in them. I read that MSG can cause increased heart rate and irregular heart beat. Wondering if anyone has had a similar reaction to food containing MSG?
Thanks, Linda
Re: Monosodium Glutamate and Tachycardia
November 02, 2022 06:23AM
MSG is generously incorporated in a wide range of processed food. It has a bad reputation for lots of reasons, but before telling it disturbs your HR, it's wise putting aside most coincidences.
I bet GeorgeN can tell you about a good way to know.
November 02, 2022 07:48AM
LLA
Wondering if anyone has had a similar reaction to food containing MSG?

Years ago, there was a woman here from the UK, Fran Ross. She'd had afib for 20 years. Getting MSG and things like it out of her life was a big part of her remission plan.

Go to our Conference Room Proceedings to Session 61 (a pdf). You can read Fran's story (starts on p4 of the PDF) and also search the PDF for MSG.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/02/2022 07:52AM by GeorgeN.
November 02, 2022 07:59AM