Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ablate or Not ablate: That is the question.

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
Ablate or Not ablate: That is the question.
May 15, 2014 05:44PM
Hello everyone,
Just a quick recap about my situation again: I have arrhythmia or Afib for over 1 year now, have pacemaker, 48 y.o male, active, in general good health, not taking any meds at all, episodes occur every few days up to 2 weeks if lucky, episodes may last few minutes up to 3 hours with rate may be in 80's up to 130's. Lately, I've been leaning toward having an ablation. I know I'm fairly new to this condition, but I somewhat feel tired of having to remember so many things, dealing with having to remember not eating this, do eat that, take supplements certain times throughout the day, don't do this, and don't do that, eat more potassium, eat lesser salt, don't eat too much calcium, drink this and drink that, on and on.
May be I'm just looking for a quick way out so I can just live a "normal" life. By no means, "normal" life doesn't mean I want to consume alcohol, smoke, do drugs, eat anything I want, etc. I was not that way before I had Afib and definitely won't be after ablation (if I decide to go through with it).
Granted, I've only tried the supplement and diet method in a short time, but I just hate it so much when Afib beast just show up whenever it wants even when I do everything that I supposed to do. It just really depresses me.