Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie Desperate for Answers! Scared Crapless!

Posted by Sandra 
Newbie Desperate for Answers! Scared Crapless!
May 11, 2014 09:56AM
Hello fellow afibbers! I was diagnosed with afib a little over a week ago and I’m scared crapless! The episode happened while I was delivering packages on my route (I’m a Fed Ex driver). I was luckily near a town, so I stopped into a small clinic and asked if they could document my episode. I was immediately ambulanced to the ER. I converted on my own in a little over 1 and ½ hours. I’ve had one other attack about 6 months before that, but it was less violent and converted within an hour. I was in a very rural area when that episode happened, so I just laid in my truck and prayed for it to be over.

I don’t know what my heart rate or blood pressure was in either episode because I was too busy trying to stay as calm as possible. I’ve had a panic disorder since my early 20’s (I’m 54), and knowing the numbers would have likely made my bad situation even worse!

The scariest thing for me right now is - I AM ON NO MEDS! When I left the ER I was told my GP could prescribe whatever I needed. However, I left empty handed at my clinic too. I was assigned a NP because all of the DRs were busy. The NP felt my condition was “out of her league”. I asked that - if she couldn’t give me drugs to lower my heart rate – that she would at least give me something stronger than the 10 mgs of Xanax I’ve been on for decades. She “didn’t feel comfortable doing that”. She did, however, make me a referral for a Cardiologist. When I called to see how soon I can get in, I was told they were extremely busy and I was on a waiting list. Right now, I’m looking for an appointment in August!!!