Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Testosterone replacement therapy.

Posted by Vince 
Testosterone replacement therapy.
November 04, 2015 08:38PM
Hello,
I have had AFIB for about 3 1/2 years. I have been using Androgel for about 8 1/2 years. I use Androgel 1%, one 5 gram packet daily, which contains 50 mg of testosterone.

Recently I have come across several papers in which the authors question the amount of testosterone being prescribed and the testing methods being used. (I give links for two below).

In brief, they are saying that for topically applied testosterone, such as Androgel:
1. Topically applied sex hormones are well absorbed.
2. Standard blood tests for testosterone (venipuncture serum levels) give false low readings - they do not reflect the topically applied hormone.
3. The result is that many men are taking far too much testosterone.

Evidently typical topical use of testosterone is 50 - 100 mg daily. For comparison, a normal male produces approximately 6 mg daily.

Abnormally high testosterone and the cascading effects on other hormones and tissues cannot be good for heart health.

I thought I would ask if anyone on this Board has encountered these claims before I go off on a wild goose chase...
Thanks.

[www.power2practice.com]

[blog.zrtlab.com]
Re: Testosterone replacement therapy.
November 05, 2015 12:07AM
Sorry this guy is misinformed! ... Will explain in a few when back from Scottsdale.