Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Report on 1 year's progress.

Posted by Wil Schuemann 
Wil Schuemann
Report on 1 year's progress.
November 16, 2003 08:41AM
Introduction:

I have been exhibiting chronic a-fib for two years. I have no other known health problems, other than being 66 years old, and having a lifelong history of migraine. I work 60 or more hours per week, and my sports are wind-surfing, mountain biking, and mountain climbing, all of which are now pursued with suitable restraint. My height is 5’11" and weight 145 lbs.

My a-fib does not affect my normal life, nor am I much aware of it. My heart rate is; 70 waking, 80 resting, 100 working, 115-125 exercising (albeit not too vigorously), and 150-160 peak. My blood pressure averages 120/70 when I am far away from medical doctors. All the standard tests failed to show any heart or chemical anomalies

My two children are both MDs, and my daughter-in-law is a physical therapist for the Olympic teams. Our collective judgement is that, as aging continues, in ten or twenty years my health will be better if aging proceeds with my heart in sinus rhythm, rather than in a-fib.

Background:

For years prior to November, 2001 I had what, at the time, seemed like skipped heart beats, but I experienced no a-fib. On a trip to Phoenix that November I stayed up most of a night analyzing a particularly frustrating German patent. This predictably triggered a migraine the following day, which peaked the following night. When I awoke the next morning I was experiencing an irregular heartbeat, but no other symptoms other than what seemed like somewhat stronger than usual post migraine recovery symptoms.

When I returned home my daughter analyzed my problem over the phone as a-fib and had me come in for an ECG to verify her guess.