Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advice Needed: 24 Years old Athlete with AFIB (CANADA)

Posted by Brian 
Advice Needed: 24 Years old Athlete with AFIB (CANADA)
December 08, 2023 07:39AM
Hello, I am a 24 year old male living in Vancouver BC, Canada. I have had symptomatic paroxysmal a-fib since 2022, and I am a professional weight lifter and boxer, so you can imagine how much it has affected my athletic career. (Exercise is a big afib/PAC trigger for me). I feel that each time I get an episode now, it lengthens every time greatly. I fear that my next episode will last over 12-24 hours and progress my Afib into persistent, which will be harder to treat with ablations/drug therapy. Should I put a stop to my athletic activities and all known triggers until I get my ablation or treatment/management sorted first? To continue engaging in exercises and athletic workouts from doing none at all and affecting quality of life in order to prevent triggering episodes and progressing the Afib? It has destroyed my life and I am in dire need of help to seek a cure for my a-fib while it is still somewhat early. I wonder if I am ever able to go back to sports in my life as that truly means the world to me. I am aware that medications at this age is not very feasible, so I am looking for the "cure" with ablation. I feel like my ability to live life and enjoy life has already ended. My progression now is PAC's everyday, and Afib Episodes a few times per month. It used to be every year, to every few months, to every month, to now few episodes per month, all not lasting over 12 hours yet.

ABLATION DOCTOR: