Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pulsed Field Ablation Insurance Coverage

Posted by MarionGlenn 
Pulsed Field Ablation Insurance Coverage
November 08, 2023 12:28PM
I'm a U.S. citizen living and working in the Middle East; 69 years old with lone Afib (paroxysmal) since 2005; largely asymptomatic until 2019.

I'm an amateur (non-competitive) endurance runner (one marathon or ultramarathon per year), and in 2019 the Afib started to affect my training. It's gotten progressively worse over the past four years, so I've decided to take my EP's advice and go for a catheter ablation.

The closest ablation clinics with experienced and reputable EPs are in Germany, and all of the clinics I have found there are mostly offering pulsed field ablation (PFA) using Boston Scientific Farapulse technology. This suits me fine, since I am convinced that PFA is the way to go, in terms of its high efficacy combined with a lower risk of adverse outcomes. I really don't want to undergo RF or cryoballoon ablation if I can avoid it.

While Farapulse is approved and already mainstreamed in the European Union, in the U.S. it is still in clinical trials. FDA approval of Farapulse is fully expected, but not until the second half of 2024.

I have a platinum U.S. health insurance policy that will fully cover me for an ablation procedure in Germany, but I'm concerned that it may not pay a claim for a procedure using Farapulse technology since it is not FDA approved.

I have not asked my insurer about this yet, because I don't want to risk getting the "wrong answer" on the record, in case there is a way around this potential problem.

Does anyone have experience with U.S. health insurance coverage (or not) for a pulsed field ablation procedure using a non-FDA approved technology such as Farapulse?

I would be most grateful for your advice. Thanks.
Re: Pulsed Field Ablation Insurance Coverage