Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My Atrial fibrillation journey

Posted by Mike_the_drummer 
My Atrial fibrillation journey
January 16, 2023 02:16AM
I am writing this post in case it is useful.
I am not a doctor, and this is not medical advise. This is just my personal journey with atrial fibrillation.

I first had atrial fibrillation about five years ago (I was around 55) and unfortunately it was not paroxysmal. I was stuck in AF for months on bisoprolol beta blocker until I had my first cardioversion to put my heart back into rhythm. This only lasted 24 hours and I returned to my previous afib state of about 150 - 180 bpm.

I was badly depressed as I was a very fit person (Or so I thought) before the atrial fibrillation with an average resting heart rate of 55 bpm. I had been a professional drummer and had kept extremely fit since I was 16.
My cardiologist suggested an antiarrhythmic medication, which after a number of days brought my heart back into rhythm, but it was being held there in a very clunky artificial way and would quite often give me ectopic beats or bursts of palpitations which were pretty horrific, and the medication side-effects were not great.

I eventually had a second cardioversion. I had been reading every paper and any studies available online I could find on the subject, and had understood that there was more fundamentally wrong with my heart than just forcing my heart back into rhythm. Especially how the digestive system and vagus nerve affected it and inflammation. This second cardioversion failed after 24 hours. I then went back on the antiarrhythmic which brought my heart back into rhythm again but I felt awful.