Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anti-inflammatories and Eliquis

Posted by tobherd 
Anti-inflammatories and Eliquis
November 04, 2022 08:03PM
Hello all - I have been doing well Afib-wise, with no Afib for over 8 years and a Watchman implant last January, as I had a LAA done (by Dr. Natale). I continue on 2.5 mg of Eliquis twice/daily.

I've had Tendonitis behind my knee for a few weeks, and was prescribed Meloxicam, which is apparently a fairly strong anti-inflammatory. After 2 days on it, I noticed what looked like a purplish "pimple" on the top of one of my eyelids. It soon became more like a maroon blot and then a darker line basically outlining my eyelid. I stopped taking the Meloxicam because I was concerned it may have actually been a bleed over my eyelid.

Fast forward to today, when my knee still hurts (I was hoping it would just go away), so I called the pharmacist to ask if there might be a connection between the meds and Eliquis. She said "yes" and that I shouldn't take them together (the first pharmacist I called after this happened did not express much concern) I then drove over to my primary doctor's office who originally prescribed the Meloxicam, to show him the pictures I took (of my eye) and ask if it's OK or not to restart it again. He basically said "no" don't take it (didn't he notice I was on Eliquis when he originally prescribed this?) and to just take Tylenol (which we know is NOT an anti-inflammatory)..........Argh. SO...I called Dr. Natale and left a message, not realizing I had called his cell phone. He called me back within a few minutes and said it was OK to take myself off of Eliquis for a few days or even a week, and do the Meloxicam while off of it. As I am on a low dose and also have the Watchman, he was not concerned.

I have a number of thoughts/questions on all of this: