Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Afib diagnosed 40 year old male

Posted by Bob Thorton 
Afib diagnosed 40 year old male
January 22, 2022 12:04PM
I am very active running 12 miles a week, as well as weight lifting. I am a firefighter with 15 years on the job. I was diagnosed with afib on 4/13/21. Cardiologist states alcohol and dehydration caused it. I drank 3 days prior. Maybe I am being hard headed but I dont think I was dehydrated at the time. I had an echo done. He stated I have mild left atrial enlargement measuring at 4.3cm. He doesnt know why I have that. I was tested for sleep apnea. Results show I do not have sleep apnea. I also was placed on a 14 day monitor. Those results showed no afib, but averaged 20 pac’s daily a longest run of 3 pacs in a row. Cardiologist did not give me any medication. Since 4/13 my heart has not felt the same. I have pounding heart beats when either relaxing or preforming light tasks. I am woken up in the middle of the night with these pounding heart beats. I feel every single pac about 20 a day. I feel them relaxing, while running, or when I am woken up with these pounding heart beats. When I wake up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom my heart rate shoots up to 130, as soon as I lay back down my heart rate drops to my normal resting heart rate of mid 50’s. I also have chest discomfort that surronds my heart. Doctor states all my symptoms are benign, and is not concerned. Are all my symptoms associated with afib? Anyone else experience these symptoms? I dont think I have had another episode of afib, but my heart has not felt the same since. I struggle with these symptoms daily and dont know what else to do. Cardiologist gave me the ok to return to my job, but of course I am worrried if all this gets any worse I am gonna be taken off the truck and lose my job. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.