Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

nuclear stress test vs stress echo

Posted by anneh 
nuclear stress test vs stress echo
May 05, 2020 09:57PM
well my cardiologist keeps insisting I need a nuclear stress test and ignored me when I said I would prefer stress echo because I don't want radioactive stuff in my body. He wants me to have it because ultrasound showed some blockage in my neck arteries so I assume he thinks I may have other blockage elsewhere (in the meantime am following Dr Esseltyn's protocol to get rid of or prevent more blockage). So would the stress echo do as good a job as the nuclear test?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/06/2020 05:19AM by anneh.
Re: nuclear stress test vs stress echo
May 06, 2020 12:01AM
I'm not a doctor but I think your doctor is right. If your doc was looking for problems with your heart, a stress-echo would make more sense, but he's looking at your carotids in your neck. A stress-echo isn't going to tell him what he needs to know.
Joe
May 06, 2020 03:25AM
What about a CIMT (carotid intima media test) with an ultrasound?
May 06, 2020 06:41AM
Have you had a CAC ?
May 06, 2020 10:45AM
thnx I am pretty sure that is what I had done on my neck that showed blockage, I assume he wants to test other areas now
May 06, 2020 10:46AM
no that wasn't suggested, certainly sounds better than nuclear test =:0
May 06, 2020 11:12AM