Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hi All - Newbie here. Question about Metoprolol Beta Blocker

Posted by Flowmaster 
Hi All - Newbie here. Question about Metoprolol Beta Blocker
March 28, 2016 08:25PM
First off, I'm blown away about how comprehensive this site is.. Thank you all for your efforts!

Here's my abridged story. Male, 6'3" athletic, 200 lbs, 56 years old, in good health. However, high "normal" blood sugar fasting level - so still within normal range but want to get it lower. Doc suggested more paleo which I have just started to be more religious about as of last week. My diet prior to that was pretty healthy though - not a lot of processed carbs but definitely some. Exercise regularly (5 x per week - light trail running, mtn biking, gym for weights, occasional yoga).

I had my first afib experience 16 years ago. Drank a metabolic booster at the gym and drank some cold water during my workout. Yikes! Off to the emergency room, drugs, converted on "my own" after 12 hours in hospital. Followed up with a cardiologist here in San Franciso - had echo cardiogram but no underlying heart disease detected.

Then, just last Tuesday at the gym I had my second attack. Had coffee prior to working out - burped a little during workout and it kicked in. Adrenaline dump. Freakied out. Coughed, Vaselva maneuver, prayed to the universe to no avail. Off I went to the hospital. Heart rate up to 140. Spent the night and was electro-controverted about 20 hours later.