Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Long Interval Lone afib

Posted by sbeckermd 
Long Interval Lone afib
May 24, 2014 11:03PM
I am a trauma surgeon and surgical intensivist who is very committed to exercise. Thus, my resting heart rate is in the 40s and can go into the 30s during sleep. I am 65 years old. I have been extensively tested and have NO heart disease.

I have Lone a fib with one episode in 1979, 1994, 2003, 2008, 2011 and at this moment.

The first three times I was electrically cardioverted and the last 2 times I have converted with the pill-in-the-pocket approach of 300mg of Flecanide by mouth

Today the flecanide has failed and I would appreciate any advise on what to do next.

My cardiologist wants to wait until Tuesday so that all the flecanide is out of my system. He wants me to take Rivaroxaban 20 mg starting tomorrow

Is there any opinions about whether this plan is a good one??
Re: Long Interval Lone afib
May 25, 2014 01:39AM
Std procedure is to anticoagulate for 3-4 weeks if you are in afib for > 48hours. So you might want to consider electro cardioversion before that window closes. I believe a TEE can substitute for the anti-coagulation.

I've used 300 mg flec on-demand for 10 years. There was one time I added another 100 mg after about 12 hours and I converted at about 20 hours. This was the 2nd time I used it. The first time, I converted a 2 1/2 month episode with 300 mg flec in 20 hours.

Subsequently I've converted in 1-4 hours with 300 mg flec. Currently I'm at one year post my last episode.

Once you convert, you may want to ask here about electrolyte repletion, especially magnesium & potassium.