Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mother just Dx'ed with LAF

Posted by Michael 
Michael
Mother just Dx'ed with LAF
January 28, 2012 12:48PM
My 84 yo wf mother had first episode of AF. Work up was essentially negative. She was easily cardioverted with one shock and returned to a sinus rhythm. Her cardiologist wants to send her home today on Amniodorone. I am not inclined to have her start done this path. Any recommendations? Of interest, she had polio as a child and is concened about post polio syndrome effect on her general condition. I am a physician and would rather start by building up her magnesium levels as well as other nutrients.

Looking forward to some insights from the group.
Re: Mother just Dx'ed with LAF
January 28, 2012 01:36PM
Dont sweat it. One episode at 84 could be just that.
Marian from Miami
January 28, 2012 04:37PM
My mother had an episode of Afib in her late 80s which self-converted, and a prolonged episode at age 90, requiring chemical conversion. She has been well controlled for three years with flecainide 50mg twice per day. Amiodorone surely seems like overkill to me. Why not seek the opinion of an EP rather than a cardiologist?

Also important, does she know when she is in Afib, or will you be available to monitor that? It may be a long time, or never, before she has another episode.

Marian
January 28, 2012 04:48PM
MIchael - Welcome. Your nutritional approach certainly makes sense and offers the least amount of adverse affects compared to arrhythmia drugs, especially the last resort drug, Amiodarone.