Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Relationship between Atrial Fibrillation and Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease: A

Posted by Mike H 
As a scientist I do regular pubmed searches and came across this abstract:

Relationship between Atrial Fibrillation and Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease: A Multicenter Questionnaire Survey.
Shimazu H, Nakaji G, Fukata M, Odashiro K, Maruyama T, Akashi K.
SourceDepartment of Medicine, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan.

Abstract
Objectives: The relationship between atrial fibrillation (AF) and gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) remains controversial, and investigations into this relationship have been based on small series. This multicenter survey evaluated the relationship between these diseases. Methods: The study enrolled 188 consecutive subjects (110 males and 78 females, mean age 60.4 ± 0.9 years) treated as outpatients. Patients were classified by the frequency scale for symptoms of GERD (F-scale) after obtaining informed consent for screening for GERD. Scores on this questionnaire were correlated to baseline characteristics obtained from medical records. The cutoff value for a diagnosis of GERD was set at 8.0 points. Results: Total scores on the F-scale were significantly greater in female subjects (p = 0.004) and in patients with AF (p = 0.019) compared to the other subjects. Univariate and multivariate analysis of the prevalence of GERD demonstrated that GERD was not related to gender, hypertension, dyslipidemia or coronary artery disease and that AF alone showed a significant (p < 0.001) correlation with GERD. Conclusions: This multicenter questionnaire survey demonstrated that among traditional cardiovascular risk factors, AF was an independent risk factor for GERD. A large cohort study to assess the potential relationship between GERD and AF is warranted.