Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

mini maze

Posted by Phyllis Kuehn 
Phyllis Kuehn
mini maze
November 21, 2010 03:29AM
Hi - I have been away from afibbers for a few years and have come back as the afib is now daily and almost constantly. Can anyone point me to a discussion of the mini maze procedure that may have appeared here? It sounds more promising than regular ablation, and it is time for me to consider one or the other. I'm in California and would like to do the mini maze in the San Francisco area. Any recommendations? Thanks. Phyllis
Re: mini maze
November 21, 2010 06:32AM
Phyllis,

Check this out this team. I am new to a-fib, but I know people who have used this group & were very pleased with the outcome. My father being one who had Vincent A. Gaudiani as his surgeon.

[www.pccvs.com]

Good Luck!
DickI
November 21, 2010 07:04AM
Phyllis:

Here are two places to start:

[www.stopafib.org]

<[af-ideas.com];

Your choice should depend on a number of factors, including your type of AF (paroxysmal vs persistent/permanent) and the availability of expert EPs and surgeons.

IMO the Wolf MiniMaze is *not appropriate* for those with persistent/permanent AF. Ask the surgeon what his success rates are.

MM variations, on the other hand, may be. Initial results are good, but the track record is short.

These variations include the Totally Thoracoscopic Mini Maze (TTM), which itself has variants (the five-box TTM), and the hybrid or convergent approach. (You can read more about these on the above sites.)

You might want to consult with Dr James Longoria at Sutter Health in Sacramento. Ask him how what he is doing compares to other TTM practitioners -- especially Dr John Sirak -- with regard to lesion set and success and complication rates.

You can find contact information via links here:

[af-ideas.com]

-- Dick
Phyllis
November 21, 2010 09:03AM