Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Worst episode ever-Anyone have this?

Posted by Lynn 
Worst episode ever-Anyone have this?
June 21, 2010 09:14AM
I am fairly new to a-fib, but thought I had gotten past the point where it could scare the life out of me. This incident was very unusual and I am just wondering if someone else has experienced this.

Yesterday I had an episode of a-fib while we were away from home. It started out as fluttery and was going in and out of NSR every ten minutes or so. We were touring a college and had a walking tour which I didn't complete because it felt like my rate was getting too high. I had taken about 80 mg. of fast acting verapamil. Perhaps I had pushed myself too hard, but on the drive home I had a sensation that my heart stopped and felt like someone had their hands around my neck restricting the blood flow. All of a sudden I felt a rush of blood to my head and my vision momentarily went out of kilter. It happened two more times on the drive home, but without the visual effect.

When I arrived home I called my EP and the dr (his partner). on call was not overly concerned (no er trip necessary) because I am young and have a healthy heart. Said my heart probably paused when converting and to call the office in the morning. It sounds like they may do another 30 day monitor.

I might add that I do not travel well and have anxiety, so how much is a function of normal a-fib and how much is anxiety driven (higher rate) I am not sure.

Has anyone had this happen during their a-fib career?
Elizabeth H.
Re: Worst episode ever-Anyone have this?
June 21, 2010 07:44PM
Lynn:

I had a couple of episodes where I started blacking out, but didn't blackout completely. The one incident was caught on a ECG---when converting back into normal sinus rhythm, my heartrate dropped to almost a flatline for a few seconds.