Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Magnesium Potassium Taurine

Posted by Doug S. 
Magnesium Potassium Taurine
May 15, 2018 07:13PM
Hi, I wonder if someone could help me find the recommended daily amounts of these supplements for afibbers. I think there used to be something on this site called "the protocol" or something, but I just can't seem to find it.

I currently take 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate, and about 1 gram of potassium gluconate. I also take 1 gram of Taurine.

I think I noticed in a post by Jackie that she takes something like 2-3 grams of Taurine a day, so wondering if I'm a bit light there.

I have been having a lot of extra beats in the last few months, getting progressively worse, so thought I'd better review my supplements.

Thanks
Re: Magnesium Potassium Taurine
May 15, 2018 08:44PM
Hi Doug,

I am a newbie afibber having been diagnosed in the last couple of months. I am currently at 800 mg of magnesium supplements per day, working up to 1000 mg (I use Doctor's Best High Absorption).

I have ordered taurine but am not sure of the daily dosage to take.

I would also like some input on potassium - not only the daily dosage, but what kind - I am confused by the different types, eg citrate, gluconate, chelate, that i am seeing on the vitamin websites.

I also have read that low sodium V8 juice is a good source of potassium - any thoughts on that?

Thanks everyone for your input - still working all this stuff out. This forum has been a Godsend, but so much information!

Kind regards

Anne C
May 15, 2018 10:20PM
I would say it varies by person. In my case I tended to push magnesium to bowel tolerance, I have no kidney issues (important) <[www.afibbers.org] , so have pushed potassium as high as 8 g/day, but have ranged from 1 to 5g/day and taurine is 2-4 g/day.