Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

V8 and Flutter.

Posted by JDfiB 
V8 and Flutter.
December 12, 2023 03:06PM
I've read in an earlier post about the benefits of low Sodium V8 for managing flutter and being newly diagnosed to the flutter world I am interested in the idea..I have also read on other sources that combining that and metoprolol was not a good idea. I am looking for some input regarding this.
Re: V8 and Flutter.
December 12, 2023 04:36PM
I have never heard about problems with drinking low sodium V8 and taking metoprolol together. I take metoprolol for rate control for afib and BP. I also drink low sodium V8 for the potassium and take mag taurate for PVCs. They seem to help with my PVCS. I will be interested in hearing what others say since I am no expert by any means.
December 12, 2023 04:39PM
Metoprolol raises potassium levels and low sodium V8 adds potassium. Whether or not this is too much potassium, I don't know, but may be the reason why you read the two should not be taken together.

Jim
December 12, 2023 06:11PM
Metoprolol is only mildly potassium-sparing, so if you have normal kidney function it shouldn't be a problem. If there's any uncertainty about your kidney function, ask your doctor for a metabolic panel first.