Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Thyroid and Afib

Posted by Diana 
Thyroid and Afib
March 11, 2023 06:00PM
This is my first post to the site. I am a new member as of today.

Last year I was diagnosed with Afib for the first time. The culprit was my thyroid and having too many meds that caused me to become hyperthyroid (my TSH level was off the chart "low") even though I was being treated for years for hypothyroidism. Given I had been running for many years, I thought the sudden rise in my heart rate was due to the running and my age. I would never consider myself an elite runner (never even ran a full marathon). Still, here I am and having seen several cardiologists and EP's this past year, and upon the recommendation of the last EP I saw, I went from taking sotalol for 6 weeks and then onto metoprolol (25 mcgs, 2 times daily) for about 6 weeks. I am also taking xarelto. I am now weaning off the metoprolol as I discovered when I had my labs done last week, my A1c increased (I am not diabetic but genetically predisposed to higher blood glucose levels than most people). As a result, when researching metoprolol and its effect on blood glucose levels, I learned metoprolol can increase blood glucose levels. Any suggestions for weaning off metoprolol? After feeling like I was finally making some progress, I now feel like I just took a step back. I am sure many of you can relate.