Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rocky transition from metoprolol succ to amiodarone

Posted by AL777s 
Rocky transition from metoprolol succ to amiodarone
February 22, 2023 01:48PM
Hi! Newbie here. Name is Al (female). Glad to be here and thank you for creating this forum.
New patient w afib w RVR w structural heart dz - AVR/MVR and Marfans. On metoprolol succinate after hospital admit and having hard time transitioning to amiodarone w an ER med that stays in system for 3 days. Can only get met down to 50 mg as starting amio and then HR plummets to 43-48. Was taking 200 mg amio once a day first 3 days on first attempt and yanked off once HR went too low. Second time tried 200 amio first day then 100 next two days with 50 mg met by second day. Again, HR plummeted and was cycling from 50 -70 and back when not super low.
So my question is ... Is there any easier way to transition from metoprolol succinate to amiodarone w less overlap? (metoprolol tartrate? bed rest? amio twice a day 50 mg?) Does this happen to everyone or is it just my system is sensitive? I’m 53 yrs old and have been anticoagulated w warfarin at 3.0 - 3.5 for 20 years, and so you can kinda see why they went amio after an unsuccessful attempt w flecainide (QT and QRS issues and really not great candidate w structural anyway).
Would be very grateful for any thoughts or experiences you veterans of this testy affliction would be willing to share. Thanks again smiling smiley
Re: Rocky transition from metoprolol succ to amiodarone
February 22, 2023 02:08PM
Hi, and welcome. I had an ablation in late July, but was in the local ER six days later with a lot of PACs and tachycardia. The attending internist at the ER managed to get ahold of the electrophysiologist who had 'done me' and the two agreed on a prescription for amiodarone.