Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Afib for 4 days

Posted by Dini 
Afib for 4 days
July 25, 2022 06:18AM
I’ve had paroxysmal Afib for 8 years, typically it lasts for no longer than 24 hours. In the last month I’ve had one episode that lasted 3 days, and am current having an episode that has been going on for 4 days. The on call dr. has told me as long as long as my hr is under 100 bpm, I should ride it out at home. I’ve never had an episode this long am wondering if you have any advice/tips?
I’m on metoprolol and Eliquis.

Thank you!
Re: Afib for 4 days
July 25, 2022 07:24AM
I'm no expert, but, AFAIK, your Dr is right... if you're OK while in afib. Taking a blood thinner and a betablocker puts you in the "rate control" strategy, which is not necessarily bad. Many afibbers are fine like that and live a long life.
Nevertheless, there are other conditions you don't mention : global health state, age, other problems, how you are while in afib, and so on... All this may one say it's better or not trying to keep you in NSR.
July 25, 2022 08:08AM
If you do not have structural heart disease, perhaps talking to a doc about a prescription for flecainide or propafenone on demand to convert. [pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov]
July 25, 2022 01:22PM
Thank you so much for the information!
July 25, 2022 02:22PM