Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beta Blockers for Afib treatment in patients with already low rates

Posted by MarkL 
Beta Blockers for Afib treatment in patients with already low rates
March 03, 2022 11:00PM
I know this is a question for my own physicians but wanted to see if anyone here knows the answer.

Something I fail to understand: Why are beta blockers almost always used as a first line maintenance med in the treatment of paroxysmal Afib in otherwise heart healthy persons with a lower than normal heart rate already? Isn’t there a theory that with a lower than normal HR (<60), ectopic beats can actually cause Afib episodes to begin? And if so, wouldn't a beta blocker make this worse and explain why a lot of people have primarily nocturnal episodes which occur when the HR is at its lowest?

Obviously, I’m not a doctor or pharmacist. What is it I’m missing here?
Re: Beta Blockers for Afib treatment in patients with already low rates
March 04, 2022 05:02AM
MarkL
I know this is a question for my own physicians but wanted to see if anyone here knows the answer.

Something I fail to understand: Why are beta blockers almost always used as a first line maintenance med in the treatment of paroxysmal Afib in otherwise heart healthy persons with a lower than normal heart rate already? Isn’t there a theory that with a lower than normal HR (<60), ectopic beats can actually cause Afib episodes to begin? And if so, wouldn't a beta blocker make this worse and explain why a lot of people have primarily nocturnal episodes which occur when the HR is at its lowest?

Obviously, I’m not a doctor or pharmacist. What is it I’m missing here?

IMO, you're right. Their main purpose for the kind of afibbers you mentioned is to lower their avg HR while in afib, if necessary. If their avg HR while in afib is already below 100BPM, BBs would likely make things worse.