Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Flecainide POP/Daily or herbal alternatives? Must decide SOON.

Posted by cla-fib 
Flecainide POP/Daily or herbal alternatives? Must decide SOON.
October 21, 2021 09:43PM
Hi everyone. Glad to have some support! I am somewhat new to this condition... I had one episode in 2000, then not another until 2007 and then another in 2014. Since then, they are coming closer and closer. I used to stop them with either coughing or ice on my wrist or neck, or anywhere that would shock me. They started lasting longer but I think the longest was only 6 hours. My mom and her mom both died of strokes. I'm thinking now that perhaps they had a-fib and didn't know it. Anyway, I don't want to have one! They both died at 78 and I'm now 75. confused smiley I started taking flecainide POP early this year. I was only having episodes once or twice a month or so. As of August, I am having them more like every 2-5 days. My family wants me to jump into the twice a day schedule, but I HATE drugs and have been trying to handle on my own with essential oils, stress management. (Strange: I contracted Covid end of August and did not have one single episode for two weeks or so.)

So I am trying to decide, without much knowledge, what to do. As I read this forum, I see that taking it may lead to dependency on it. I don't want that. Does anyone know how long I can go on just taking it POP? Years? Does anyone know any drug alternatives that actually work?? Does it have anything to do with the vagus nerve? My doctor is, of course, useless. Another Big Pharma pusher. I don't want to move up to Eliquis either.