Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

EKG Readings

Posted by Lillyh 
EKG Readings
May 12, 2021 08:26PM
I ended up in the ER a couple weeks ago with a very fast heart rate and high blood pressure. I was given Lopressor in my Iv which brought down my heart rate and lowered my blood pressure. I just read my EKG readings and they sound very scary. Can anyone tell me if you've ever gotten this description on an EKG? I'm new to all of this and to be truthful I'm really scared.
Thank you in advance for any insight into this...

Sinus Rhythm
Borderline prolonged PR interval

Ventricular Rate: 93 BPM
Atrial Rate: 93 BPM
P-R Interval: 199 ms
QRS Duration: 102 ms
Q-T Interval: 382 ms
QTc Calculation(Bazett): 475 ms
Calculated P Axis: 56 degrees
Calculated R Axis: 37 degrees
Calculated T Axis: 24 degrees

WAVEFORM

Atrial fibrillation
Repolarization abnormality, prob rate related

Ventricular Rate: 150 BPM
Atrial Rate: 143 BPM
P-R Interval: 117 ms
QRS Duration: 87 ms
Q-T Interval: 283 ms
QTc Calculation(Bazett): 447 ms
Calculated R Axis: 57 degrees
Calculated T Axis: -79 degrees
Re: EKG Readings
May 12, 2021 10:48PM
Lillyh,

I'm not a doc, but it looks like the reading you typed second was taken initially and you were in afib at that point. Apparently, after the Lopressor was given, you converted to NSR (good). The ventricular rate after conversion was a bit high at 93. Have no idea what your normal resting heart rate is, though it can be common for the rate to be a little high for a time after conversion. Tell us a bit more about yourself. What is your age. Any other conditions or meds. What is your BP normally? What is your resting heart rate normally? Are you active or sedentary? How are you metabolically? How is your weight for your body size. And so on.

Did they send you home with any meds or prescriptions?