Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Magnesium Threonate question

Posted by RonB 
Magnesium Threonate question
December 21, 2013 11:01PM
Does anyone have information about Magnesium L-Threnate? This is a product that is promoted by Dr Mercola. My wife just ordered it and I wonder if it would be worth adding it to my daily intake of Mg glycinate.
Ron
Re: Magnesium Threonate question
December 21, 2013 11:58PM
Ron,

No info, however my own Mg experience has been there is not a big difference between the various formulations. I take a huge amount - over 3g/day. This is inclusive of the Albion patented dimagnesium malate (2g), KAL brand glycinate (.4g), MgCl2 (.8g) [a solution I make from nigari flakes] and Mg Bicarb (.3g) [Waller Water concentrate]. I've been playing with mag for over nine years, and it is a cornerstone of my afib remission strategy. That being said, I've taken all of one and/or mixed and matched with various doses and my bowel tolerance doesn't vary a lot.

When I travel by airplane [or raft as I did this summer], I don't bring the liquid formulations with me so will switch to just dimag and glycinate.

I've also taken only the chloride solution.

George

Why take so many different kinds? I guess 'cause it is more interesting.
December 22, 2013 08:39AM
Hi Ron and George,

I've ben taking Life Extensions Magnesium Threonate called 'Neuro-Mag' for the last two years with two capsules twice a day morning and before bed.

Mag Threonate is a special form of Magnesium that more readily passes through the blood/brain barrier and some studies support its enhancement of cognitive function.

It also has much less tendency toward bowel intolerance than many other oral forms of magnesium.

Seems to help sleep too.

Shannon
December 22, 2013 10:40AM