Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ready for PVA

Posted by Charles 
Charles
ready for PVA
December 15, 2003 04:50PM
Hi All--just found this board through another AF site that I have been monitoring for several years. I'm pleased to see many people who take the time to provide thoughtful and well-informed information for newbies and old-timers alike. I'm 48 yrs. old and have had paroxysmal (maybe Lone) AF for 12 yrs. Had the usual progression from terror to acceptance and have now been taking Flecanide (200mg/day) + ToprolXL (50mg/day) for 4 yrs. following 3 cardioversions in 3 months at the end of 1999. Since then, I have averaged 6 episodes per year with typical duration of 24 hrs. Of course, I long ago stopped all the "goodies" like caffeine and alcohol to avoid an episode. Had been doing so well recently that earlier this year, I added back very light social drinking (1 - 2 drinks per week), fortified with an extra 100 mg Flecanide as a preventative measure. I finally seemed to have a semblance of my old life back. All was great until a couple of weeks ago when I got an attack that wouldn't stop. Went to the ER after the recommended 36 hrs., and was once again cardioverted with the "paddles". My cardiologist has been after me to take coumadin but I have refused for the last 2 years, sticking with my daily dosage of 325 mg aspirin. After this recent cardioversion, he really put the pressure on to start coumadin. I finally agreed but ONLY if we could talk about a PVA--I just don't want to be on coumadin for a long time without hope of getting off. I'm tired of all the drugs and I don't want to return to a state of fear where every new episode might require a trip to the ER--as you all know, this worry sure puts a damper on vacation plans. ENOUGH! Dr. Natale from Clevelanc Clinic travels to Marin County, CA once a month and is now affiliated with the Cardiology practice that I use. I hope to have a consult in