Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

lone a.f.-need help on decision

Posted by jack 
jack
lone a.f.-need help on decision
December 03, 2003 10:02PM
I have lone paroxysmal A.F...on tykoson and coumaden for 3 years. Electrophys has reccomended procedure to correct.consistig of PVAblation with cryotherapy as well as tying off the atrial appendage. Approx. 2 hours on the pump. Incision to be made just below the right breast to insert camera and "tools" of the trade. Says success rate is 85 per cent.I am new to all of this . Would appreciate any input for making a decision.Has anyone had a similar procedure?A.F. has not been bothersome to me except depressing to deal with. Able to function normally,jog and bike etc. Thought about just stay staying on coumaden but warned this could have problems long term as well. Also concerned that if becomes chronic more difficult to correct. Thanks for any help......jack
Pam
Re: lone a.f.-need help on decision
December 03, 2003 11:57PM
Jack:
In looking for answers for you, I ran across this interesting article about a transcatheter approach to dealing with the left atrial appendage. Don't know how much it is being used yet, or if it's still experimental.

Percutaneous Closure of the Left Atrial Appendage
STEFAN OSTERMAYER, MADLEN RESCHKE, KAI BILLINGER, THOMAS TREPELS, FRANZISKA BÜSCHEK, YVES BAYARD, and HORST SIEVERT, M.D.