Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Eliquis 2.5mg dosing

Posted by cirenepurzalot 
Eliquis 2.5mg dosing
February 14, 2020 12:49PM
I know the standard dosing for eliquis is 5mg twice per day. Does anyone know if taking half of the dose, 2.5mg twice per day, is effective still? Or is only the full dosing what is promoted?

Sorry for the questions. I'm new to all this. I appreciate you all!
Re: Eliquis 2.5mg dosing
February 14, 2020 03:13PM
5 mg is the normal dose for afib. The 2.5 mg dosage is used for:

● Age ≥80 years
● Body weight ≤60 kg (132 lbs)
● Kidney dysfunction
● Prophylaxis against DVTs

I take 2.5 mg off-label as a substitute for aspirin (I have a Watchman and the Watchman protocol is aspirin for life).
February 14, 2020 03:35PM
Thanks Carey!
February 15, 2020 08:44PM
Carey
5 mg is the normal dose for afib. The 2.5 mg dosage is used for:

● Age ≥80 years
● Body weight ≤60 kg (132 lbs)
● Kidney dysfunction
● Prophylaxis against DVTs

I take 2.5 mg off-label as a substitute for aspirin (I have a Watchman and the Watchman protocol is aspirin for life).

There are exceptions. I am 62 and definitely weigh over 200. My LAA is isolated resulting in no P Wave. Everything else is good. I amp prescribed 2.5 mg Eliquis 2X a day and 1 81 mg aspirin. This is by Dr. Natale. The aspirin is for a stent and the Eliquis is for no P wave after LAA was isolated. I
February 16, 2020 12:20AM
Yeah, we're kind of similar. The P wave was a factor for me as well. Both of us are off-label judgement calls by Natale. I'm good with it.
February 16, 2020 07:51AM
Did you always have no p wave or is this a result of the ablation? I’m thinking about getting my first pv isolation. Will I risk having to get an LAA isolation? Not sure how that works. Thanks.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/16/2020 02:28PM by cirenepurzalot.
February 16, 2020 11:28AM
Carey