Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Enlarged Right Atrium

Posted by rocketritch 
Enlarged Right Atrium
April 02, 2019 10:35PM
A friend of mine has been dealing with afib now for about a year. His heart rate is controlled around 80-90 BPM. However, the doctors are telling him his right atrium is enlarged and that being the case an ablation is out of the question. I don't think I have ever heard that before nor can I find reference here.

I've been encouraging him to seek out a new doctor for several months now and I think he is finally going to do that.

I know this is limited info but its all I have right now. I don't know of any other underlying issues that may be pushing the doctor to make this particular diagnosis. thoughts?
Re: Enlarged Right Atrium
April 02, 2019 11:09PM
I'd encourage him to send his info to Natale to see if they have the same opinion on ablation...
April 02, 2019 11:22PM
GeorgeN
I'd encourage him to send his info to Natale to see if they have the same opinion on ablation...

I have as well as encouraging him to come to this site and do some research and ask questions first hand.

So far as his right atrium I have gleaned over a couple studies and they all refer to the left atrium size may affect ablation outcomes but nothing about the right.
April 03, 2019 02:30AM
Hi Rocketrich,

First of all while a super enlarged left atria can increase the odds of needing a bit more work in order to seal the deal long term ... and a severely enlarged Left atria tends to start at 52mm across the widest part of the left atria in men ... and 47mm is considered severely enlarged for women The more elite operators rarely find an significantly enlarged left atria ( noted >/= 52mm in the left atria for men, and >/=47mm for women.