Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Have most people here had ablations?

Posted by katesshadow 
Have most people here had ablations?
February 02, 2019 01:58PM
I'm still relatively new to Afib and this forum.

I'm still learning names/stories.

Have most posters here had ablations?

i have yet to even meet with an EP. 99.9% of my knowledge of Afib has come from this forum.
Re: Have most people here had ablations?
February 02, 2019 03:16PM
I don't know what the percentage is but I'd guess it's about 50/50.

One thing to keep in mind with any sort of medical support forum is they don't accurately represent the full patient population. Most people who undergo successful ablations don't tend to hang out in afib forums. They just go on with their lives and pay no attention to afib. So what you tend to find in forums like this are people who are new to afib like yourself and people who are having difficulty dealing with it. So be aware of that when drawing conclusions.

My apologies if you've answered this before, but if you've never seen an EP does that mean you're not on any sort of meds, including an anticoagulant?
February 02, 2019 03:59PM
Carey
I don't know what the percentage is but I'd guess it's about 50/50.

One thing to keep in mind with any sort of medical support forum is they don't accurately represent the full patient population. Most people who undergo successful ablations don't tend to hang out in afib forums. They just go on with their lives and pay no attention to afib. So what you tend to find in forums like this are people who are new to afib like yourself and people who are having difficulty dealing with it. So be aware of that when drawing conclusions.

My apologies if you've answered this before, but if you've never seen an EP does that mean you're not on any sort of meds, including an anticoagulant?