Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What Are Your Triggers?

Posted by AnneC 
What Are Your Triggers?
July 20, 2018 04:20AM
Hello Fellow Travellers on the Afib Road,

I realise the topic of triggers has probably been addressed here a number of times before, but I am relatively new to afib and the forum and am in the initial stages of discovery about this condition generally and my condition specifically. So please bear with me.

I am relatively asymptomatic, so with my newly-purchased Kardia at my fingertips (thank you, wolfpack, for your input) I am starting to track my episodes and hope to identify any potential triggers. So far the only thing I have identified which will most likely put me into afib is a long run - not during the run, but within an hour or so of finishing (is this a vagal afib characteristic)?

What have you found that causes you to leave sinus rhythmn? How long after the triggering event do you go into afib? Does the trigger seem to have any relationship to how long it takes you to convert back to NSR?

I am grateful for any and all input - thanks very much.

Kind regards,

Anne
New South Wales, Australia
Re: What Are Your Triggers?
July 20, 2018 06:43AM
Hello Anne,

You are going to get quite the array of triggers here for sure.

Triggers for me are/were recovery from excercise, msg, caffeine, thinking or talking about it (ie. How's your heart been acting?), eating too fast or too much, alcohol, dehydration, electrolyte inbalance, anger/frustration, stress or worry, and lack of sleep.

Those we're all things that I know for sure that we're triggers. I was also highly suspect of milk. Not that drinking it would cause me to go into afib but something in the milk made me more susceptible to it.