Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

extremely confused!!

Posted by whitehaven 
extremely confused!!
June 14, 2018 11:29AM
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to afib and recently I was put on Coumadin. It's been over one month and my INR won't budge from
.9. I've cut out mostly all green vegetables, increased by fish oils, garlic, vit E, natto,, etc. Thinking about
trying cranberry juice. I take a lot of magnesium, different forms ( mag glycinate, mag ascorbate and I was taking
mag citrate but I stopped because I read something about mag citrate online).

Has anyone had a similar problem trying to increase their INR levels? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Re: extremely confused!!
June 14, 2018 11:38AM
Why not take a larger dose?
June 14, 2018 01:04PM
i'd prefer not to have to keep increasing my dosage. currently taking 4mg, 7 days a week.
June 14, 2018 01:18PM
whitehaven
i'd prefer not to have to keep increasing my dosage. currently taking 4mg, 7 days a week.

If you're not willing to adjust to a working dosage, try an NOAC. No point in testing if you prefer not to use the information.

PS Far better to stick to a healthy diet and dose accordingly

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/14/2018 01:22PM by jpeters.
June 14, 2018 01:29PM
jpeters is right. The very nature of warfarin requires dosage adjustment in response to INR results. If you're not willing to adjust the dosage then warfarin is the wrong drug for you. As it stands now, whatever benefit you perceive from not increasing the dosage is completely negated by the far greater risk of stroke you're subjecting yourself to.
June 14, 2018 02:06PM
BTW, am I sabotaging myself by including vit k2 in my diet in the form of gouda cheese? According to a website www.algaecal.com,
vitamin K2 in its MK-7 form is off limits for people taking warfarin. Research revealed that daily intakes of 10 and 20 micrograms of