Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie on Multaq. (dronedarone) Not working?

Posted by dcadwallader 
Newbie on Multaq. (dronedarone) Not working?
February 28, 2018 10:51AM
I'm a newbie here, and I greatly appreciate this forum. I had my AF under control for many years with Atenolol, but a month ago it suddenly stopped working, and I began experiencing daily AF episodes. A week ago, cardio switched me from aspirin + Atenolol to Eliquis + Multaq. Well, I'm glad to be on the Eliquis because I have heard so many good reports of its effectiveness and I feel fine on it and I understand its necessity. But after one week the Multaq is not touching my AF symptoms. I don't hear much about Multaq on this forum though I've searched. Do any of you have experience with Multaq for better or worse?

CadMan
Re: Newbie on Multaq. (dronedarone) Not working?
February 28, 2018 11:14AM
I had paroxysmal afib for about one year and took only metoprolol and aspirin during that time. After that afib episodes increased slightly and my ep put me on multaq. That quickly worked fine for about 10 months. After that afib returned and I chose the cryoablation option. It's been about 5 months so far and I'm afib free and not taking arrhythmia meds. One thing I've learned on this and other forums is that oftentimes afib gets worse over time and is harder to treat the longer you have it. You might want to get more advice from an experienced ep.
February 28, 2018 01:15PM