Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to Afib

Posted by Adrian G 
New to Afib
February 20, 2018 11:47AM
Good Morning or Afternoon for some!

I am new to the Atrial Fib community.
I got diagnosed with Atrial Fibrillation after a horrible visit to the ER with an episode lasting 18 hours and came out of on my own because Metropolol and Flec did not work. I am 22 years old and this is my 3rd episode but first diagnosed. I take daily vitamins as well as Zinc, Magnesium, D3 and Omega 3. I work out quite often but do not take supplements since the military requires it. At the time of the 18 hour episode I have not had a sip of alcohol in months nor have I smoked in months. Doctors wrote it off as stress and will not perform an Ablation due to my age and the size of my heart. The episode damaged my Atrial valve and I have been having this intense heart soreness for about 2 months now. Got a second Echo done but did not show any abnormalities. Is this normal? It almost feels like chest soreness after an intense chest workout at the gym but it feels like its behind my breastplate. Also looking for tips on how to upkeep my heart more than I already am... have been taking all my vitamins for a year and a half now just to promote my health but it seems its not working. Doctors performed almost every test they could think of before writing it off as stress related but I don't think this is the case. Any insight?

V/R
Adrian
Re: New to Afib
February 20, 2018 05:38PM
Sorry to hear this, Adrian. You're very young for afib.