Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Possible POTS or Vagal AF?

Posted by RJS4 
Possible POTS or Vagal AF?
August 11, 2017 09:38PM
Hello All! Grab some Ovaltine cuz it's story time!!!

I'm new to the AFIB community and sort of excited but slightly sad to be here. I'm only 26 and have been a natural bodybuilder/powerlifter for about the last 6-7 years of my life. Everyone thought I was perfectly healthy, yet here I am.

I always had an extremely slow heart rate, even back to elementary an middle school. Occasionally I had blips/very minor arrhythmias that began in college. I always chalked up to overtraining or marijiuana (only used it a couple times and don't plan on using again... get terrible anxiety!). Nothing ever seemed serious, just slow "athletic" heart rate is what most people called. it.

I was admitted to the ER my Junior year of college for palpitations after taking a pre workout supplement. The ER found nothing but that I was slightly dehydrated. I continued to use caffeine before workouts for years. Then last year I got extreme anxiety and palpitations from a combination of pre workout (caffeine/beta alanine) and yohimbine. Again, ER said I was fine. Stopped taking Yohimbine.