Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Inderal LA

Posted by Madeline 
Inderal LA
August 15, 2019 02:48PM
Hi,

This is my first time to post in this area as before I have always done so on afibbers forum. My question is not directly related to afib this time though.

I just had my Natale ablation 8/2/19. I looked forward to getting off of sotalol & Xarelto (the latter drug will have to stay a while longer I am told).

Since my ablation I have had a kind of cough reflex in that when I take in a little more air (a slightly deeper inspiration sometimes), it causes me to sort of gag/cough. Totally non-productive cough and non-relieving, but kind of the same way one has to gag before throwing up - just an involuntary thing.

Possible reasons why posed to me: anesthesia effects, intubation irritation, caught a bug?, & I think sotalol effects have gotten stronger. I felt a bit of this dry cough since starting sotalol last February, but after the ablation it is way magnified. I am now 13 days post ablation & have gotten off of sotalol bec the St. David's nurse said I could try it. It has only been 3 days & the cough might be abating, but it is not totally gone yet. Yesterday when I saw my local cardiologist, he firmly said sotalol does not cause cough. So, I said I did see where sotalol causes about 4 things that could fall in my category like chest discomfort, difficult or labored breathing, tightness in the chest, & it actually does say COUGH or hoarseness. Anyway, I told the cardiologist like I had told Dr. Natale that I did end up realizing that I was enjoying the calming effect & almost complete eradication of my hand tremor, so after getting off sotalol I wanted to try a bit of beta blocker & they recommended Inderal, of which effects (re before public speaking or acting) I knew of for years. Only after being on sotalol did I realize the tiredness did lessen over time.