Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bad cold-recommendations for OTC drugs

Posted by pammorgan 
Bad cold-recommendations for OTC drugs
November 07, 2017 09:47AM
Dear Forum,
I am a first grade teacher and caught a bad upper respiratory bug. I don't want to take anything that might bring on afib for my runny nose, cough and congestion. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Pam
Re: Bad cold-recommendations for OTC drugs
November 07, 2017 12:50PM
Hi Pam, am moving this thread to the General Health forum as topics not related more closely to AFIB should properly be posted in that forum. I'm a including a link to this topic in the Afibbers forum for the next week since you might not have known about our posting requests for Afibbers Forum topic range vs General Health Forum topics ry to range.

Especially now, with so many new afibbers finding our forum daily, and an increasing number signing to to start new threads, all the more I need everyone's cooperation to try and review any new threads anyone wishes to start ... before posting ... in order to not inadvertently overload Afibbers forum with topics more appropriately featured in the General Health Forum ... thanks to everyone for your consideration when choosing which forum to post new threads within.

Be well,

Shannon
November 07, 2017 09:48PM
Pam:

I have taken Benadryl without any problems---but there are some cold meds that say on the package that they can be used by people that have some heart palps or heart problems so that should be better.

Liz
November 08, 2017 05:48PM
Pam - Unfortunately, I can’t offer suggestions on what OTC cold remedies might be safe/compatible with your biochemistry as it is known that some can cause heart reactions (including Afib) in some, but not others.