Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Eliquis and ibuprofen

Posted by lvbmarine 
Eliquis and ibuprofen
July 04, 2017 05:59PM
Brief history. I had my first and only bout of AFib in May and converted after 9 hours. As a precaution my doctor put me on Eliquis and Diltiazem. My 30 day loop monitor was good and nothing since. I have a nuclear stress Thursday. I have back problems with intense pain. Ibuprofen is the only thing that helps when it flares up. My doctor said I could take it for three days no more then 1200 mg/day. Does anyone here have experience with these two drugs and bleeding? I'm really nervous about using the two together but he said as long as it's a short time I should be fine. Any thoughts?

Larry
Re: Eliquis and ibuprofen
July 05, 2017 06:35PM
Larry - First, sorry about your back problem. I hope you learn from

I'm not a doctor but I have 22 years experience since my first afib event. Joined this forum in 2002. Have had 3 ablation procedures.

While there is always a risk of forming a clot during an afib event, typically, that's with a prolonged duration of the event... but of course, no guarantee that it couldn't happen in a couple of hours. That said, many, if not most, new afibbers aren't automatically prescribed an anticoagulant in the beginning stages without pre-existing conditions that would warrant doing so. I'd think you could stop until you get relief from your back pain. But, again, I'm not a doctor.

Your question about combining both Eliquis and Ibuprofen is definitely a concern. I took full dose Eliquis for about 2.5 years and I would not have ever considered using Ibuprofen or any other NSAID with it. Just my radar giving me warning vibes... but if you look on line about interactions with these ... you can see comments from professionals.

Here's one.. scroll down for comments... check other similar websites.

[www.rxlist.com]