Welcome to the Afibber’s Forum
Serving Afibbers worldwide since 1999
Moderated by Shannon and Carey

Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

LCHF --> High Cholesterol --> statins. Avoidable.

Posted by Ginny51 
LCHF --> High Cholesterol --> statins. Avoidable.
May 17, 2017 03:00PM
Check out:
Cholesterol Code. Reverse Engineering the Mystery.
[cholesterolcode.com]
See the full video at:
Dave Feldman - 'The Dynamic Influence of a High Fat Diet on Cholesterol Variability'
Low Carb Down Under
[www.youtube.com]

Caveat: If you're not familiar with Cronometer (or other similar databases, I guess) what I'll tell you now might prove confusing.
I've been logging my food on Cronometer since August 2016 and have these blood test numbers (in mg/100 ml):
Nov 8: Total Cholesterol 325 / LDL 246
Feb 2: Total C: 218 / LDL 136
Apr 5: Total C: 319 / LDL 223

I'm not doing keto, but moderate low carb (60-70 grs is my best achievement), but I'm forced to struggle against the long and prevailing prejudice against "high cholesterol". I can handle it personally but my latest cardiologist, a week ago, prescribed statins (for the LDL 223 and FBG 144 mg/100 ml as per American College of Cardiology and American Heart Association guidelines).
After carefully considering the video and other related presentations I decided to check my numbers on Cronometer which I had been working with precisely to bring my "high cholesterol" down to spare me the admonitions of both cardiologist and endocrinologist as I refuse to take statins.
Working on cholesterol averages from one blood test to the next I was led to think (before the video), that the daily and average Cholesterol figures in mg. were what counted. There was an apparent direct pattern. Eat less cholesterol, control it and the test produces the "right" results, even though dietary cholesterol is something like 20% or whatever.