Afibbers Home Afibbers Forum General Health Forum
Afib Resources Afib Database Vitamin Shop

Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Flu Shot

Posted by LarryG 
Flu Shot
October 01, 2016 09:06PM
It's that time of the year again when we get bombarded with the ads.

Saw some recent articles (1) going against the CDC's standard advice to get vaccinated, and (2) claiming that the true reduction in risk of the getting the flu is hugely exaggerated by the media.

Would love to hear from the group on this. Thank you.

/L
Re: Flu Shot
October 02, 2016 11:27AM
Hi Larry - You can probably guess my response before I write it. I don't get flu shots.

20* years ago when I worked as a dental hygienist and was exposed continually everyone's mouth bugs from the continual aerosols, I did get the vaccines, but that didn't always keep me flu-free. After AF forced my early retirement, I eventually decided not to get the shot but rather focused on maintaining a healthy immune system support protocol and that has kept me cold and flu free ... coming up this season..no colds for 16 years and no flu for 17 years.

As you know from previous years and the result of flu shots, they start making it early to have a supply and can only calculate a 'best guess' scenario as to which flu strain will dominate the season...and that isn't always accurate. I'd rather my immune system be healthy enough to resist all types of cold and flu and not just for flu season. Further, I'm not willing to risk the added chemicals included in the vaccines.

Sign me ....
Health nut. ; )

Jackie
October 02, 2016 07:14PM
Hahaha... yup, I kinda expected that, J. ;>)

Thinking of holding out this season to see what other reputable research comes out clarifying the situation.