Posted by alexe 
Vit D level confusion
June 10, 2015 07:08PM
Gentlefolk,

Who should we believe ?

Alex

From Consumerlab.

''Arthur5764 June 10, 2015
Check with Vitamin D Council.org - optimal levels of vit d3 have been shown in multiple studies to be over 40 ng/ml. I have been prescribing 2-5k IU vitamin d3 gel caps/day for over 10 years now to 100's of patients. I have only had 1 patient have side effects (high calcium and general malaise) in all this time.

A C Sands MD

Comment on Post

ConsumerLab.com June 10, 2015

Dear Dr. Sands - Studies do not show optimal levels to be over 40 ng/mL, as you suggest. We recommend that you review the information in the section of our Vitamin D Review entitled "Deficiency vs. Insufficiency and How Much Is Too Much?" (https://www.consumerlab.com/reviews//Vitamin_D/#howmuch).

You may not see immediate adverse effects with high levels, but several studies now show higher mortality rates (i.e., more deaths) among people with levels above 40 ng/mL. The range we suggest of 25 to 35 ng/mL should provide the benefits of vitamin D without risk. We also suggest that you check the unbiased and authoritative opinion of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, which considers 20 ng/mL adequate for bone and overall health in healthy individuals
Re: Vit D level confusion
June 11, 2015 08:22AM
Alex - Consumer Labs often offers information that don't mesh with clinical experiences of those practicing functional or restorative medicine find in their patient populations that indicate successful treatment.

The 40 ng/mL figure is too low. Ideally, it will be between 50 ng/mL minimum - to 70 ng/mL. My doctor likes patients between 60 and 70. I feel best if my level is 70.

The chart typically referenced is this one... at this link... scroll down [www.mercola.com] it's bright aqua color. You can't miss it.